Exam Board Edexcel 
Qualification BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in IT




Merit in IT or Grade 4 in English Language or Literature



(Outline of


Students undertake 4 units over the two-year course:


Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3: Social Media for Business

Unit 6: Website Development



Assessment Units 1 and 2 are externally examined. The other units are coursework-based and assessed internally. Each unit is then assessed as a Pass, Merit or Distinction. Final award is calculated on a points system.


Careers Guidance The BTEC Level 3 IT course allows students to develop practical skills that are very much in demand in the modern workplace. The UK, and particularly the Northeast, has a large IT industry and there are many opportunities available.


Students may go on to study a variety of university courses in Information Technology or Computing. Alternatively, students may also decide to apply for apprenticeships, with many available from large local employers such as Accenture, Sage, DXC and Ubisoft.

Key Information