Exam Board Pearson Edexcel 
Qualification BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care




Merit in Health or Grade 4 in English Language or Literature



(Outline of


This Level 3 BTEC qualification in Health and Social Care has been designed with employers and representatives from higher education and professional bodies. In this way, the qualification covers all the knowledge and skills that are required for working in the health and social care sector. Students will undertake 4 units of study during the programme that cover a range of topics ranging from the theoretical principles of how individuals develop to promoting anti-discriminatory and ethical practice in healthcare. All students will be offered opportunities to undertake work experiences in a care setting. Although this is not a mandatory requirement of the programme, it is highly recommended as a means of developing skills and expertise needed for entry into employment or higher education.


Course Content:

Year 12: 

Unit 1:  Human Lifespan Development * externally assessed unit.

Unit 2:  Working in Health and Social Care * externally assessed unit.


Year 13:

Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs* internally assessed unit.

Unit 14:  Physiological Disorders and their Care* internally assessed unit.


Assessment Students undertake 4 units to complete the programme of study. This includes two exam units that will be externally assessed and two coursework units that will be internally assessed. Internally assessed course work units will be marked by the subject teacher and subject to internal and external verification. Students will be provided with BTEC assessment guidelines to ensure that they are fully aware of how to meet coursework criteria.

Externally assessed units will be assessed through formal external examinations in the Summer of Year 12


Careers Guidance There are more than 300 distinct career pathways in the health and social care sector. When taken alongside other relevant qualifications, it can lead to a Higher Education degree pathway in an array of health and social care programmes such as nursing, midwifery, physiotherapy, social work, and occupational therapy.


Key Information

Transition Work

Download (DOCX, 1.67MB)